Our network

Voters to decide city commission, millage races | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Voters to decide city commission, millage races

GRAND RAPIDS (WZZM) -- Voters in five counties will go to the polls on Tuesday to cast ballots in city commission and council races, millage requests, and -- in Newaygo County -- the recall of two township officials.

Kent County

One of the higher profile races is for the Ward 1 seat on the Grand Rapids City Commission.  Ward 1 covers the city's west side.  Incumbent commissioner Walt Gutowski is running against three challengers: Scott Giese, Rina Sala-Baker, and write-in candidate Jim Burkholder.  If someone receives more than 50% of the vote on Tuesday, that person will be elected to the commission.  If no one gets a majority of the votes, the top two candidates will face off in the November general election.

Kentwood is holding a race for its Ward 1 city commission seat.  Incumbent Robert Coughlin is facing challenges from Scott Bailey and Peter Hickley.

East Grand Rapids Ward 3 city commission seat is up for a vote.  The candidates are Kevin Brant, Shawn Michael Gotch, Donald Markham, and Brian Miller.

Voters are being asked to decide if Wyoming Public Schools can increase the millage for its sinking fund for school repair and construction.

Ottawa County

Holland voters will decide which of three candidates will fill an at large seat on the city council.  The candidates are Ronald Chavez, Wayne Klomparens, and Scott Troeger.  Voters will also decide the race for a Ward 2 seat on the council, with candidates Victor Orozco, Gerardo Tonini, and Jay Peters.

Coopersville voters will decide who will fill three positions on their city council.  Incumbents Larry Crandle, Charlie VanderKolk, and Roger Whitman are running against: Dan Cooke, Tim Palko, Bradley Sprague, and James Ward.  The top three vote-getters among the seven candidates will win the council seats.

Grand Haven Township voters are being asked to renew and increase the millage for fire and rescue services.

Allegan County

Voters in Saugatuck Township, Saugatuck and Douglas will vote on a proposal to renew and increase a library millage.

Newaygo County

Lilley Township voters are being asked to vote on the recall of township supervisor Jack Hoving and treasurer Kathryn Way.  Supporters of the recall are upset over $50,000 spent by the officials for zoning enforcement and legal opinions.  The leaders counter the township board approved the legal expenses, which they blames on zoning violations by a township resident and the embezzlement committed by the township's former fire chief, Charles Barron.

Voters in Montcalm County and select townships in Newaygo and Ionia counties will also vote on a millage increase for Montcalm Community College.

WZZM 13 News will have results of the races online Tuesday night.